PROCARE Adoptions

A blog about adoption experiences

Introducing the HEAD OFFICE Adoption Team: Part 5 – Elsabe Engelbrecht

Leave a comment

IMG_1411

How long have you been involved in adoption work : 

28 years

 What is your role in the adoption team? 

I am responsible for developing PROCARE’s national adoption strategies and policies. I oversee our adoption procedures and processes. I also enjoy being involved in some aspects of the orientation, matching and screening  of prospective adoptive parents and love being present at baby placements or follow up visits, whenever possible.

 What made you decide to do social work? 

I am a humanitarian at heart and passionate about people.  I have always believed that one should stop complaining about life’s problems and start doing something about it. Social work seemed like the most practical way for me to do just that!

 What is the most challenging aspect of your work? 

I can be a bit fiery at times so staying calm when I see injustice or cruelty towards vulnerable or innocent people can be quite challenging.

 What is the most rewarding aspect of your work? 

When I see my team working with selfless passion towards our common goal – making a difference in the lives of others (Ok, I know it sounds a bit corny, but it is the truth)

 Who is your role model and why? 

Carl Rogers, because he believed in unconditional love and acceptance and so do I.

Leave a Reply

